Wait?  What? Corned Beef Isn’t Irish?

Today is St. Patrick’s Day.  The day I have to suffer through the annual eating of corned beef and cabbage.  I really don’t like the dish, with its salty/sour taste and the smell of cabbage that stays in the air for days, but I can handle it once a year in an effort to celebrate my husband’s Irish heritage.  

Wait?  What did you say?  Corned beef came to the Irish from the Jewish butchers in New York City?  Are you kidding me? That is so cool. How did I not know that all these years?

This was my reaction to my dad’s morning phone call.  He often informs me of some new (not always factual) information.  Something he’s read in the paper or heard on the radio, or even seen on Facebook!  

After we hung up from our morning chat, I quickly jumped on the computer to see if this was indeed true.  And it seems that it is. How have I not known this for all of my 58 years on this planet? I just love this kind of stuff!

Here is the information I found on Wikipedia!

Some say until the wave of 18th-century Irish immigration to the United States, many of the ethnic Irish had not begun to consume corned beef dishes as seen today. The popularity of corned beef compared to bacon among the immigrant Irish may have been due to corned beef being considered a luxury product in their native land, while it was cheaply and readily available in America.[10]

The Jewish population produced similar salt-cured meat product made from beef brisket which the Irish immigrants purchased as corned beef from Jewish butchers. This may have been facilitated by the close cultural interactions and collaboration of these two diverse cultures in the United States’ main 19th- and 20th-century immigrant port of entry, New York City.[10][14]

Now I’m kind of looking forward to eating this incredibly American meal that came from two immigrant groups coming together in New York City to eat and celebrate their cultures and, as a result, creating something truly American.  

 

9 thoughts on “Wait?  What? Corned Beef Isn’t Irish?”

  1. So funny. I thought you were going in a completely different direction. I thought you were going to serve your husband potatoes and soda bread and call it a meal. It’s very noble of you to see it now as a metaphor for the melting pot or for our diversity…and actually find it more palatable. My Irish wife served her half-Jewish husband chicken wings, celery, and french fries last night. We were happy but not so in tune with our heritage.

    1. As long as you were happy! So are you half Jewish and half Swedish (humbleswede)? I am part Swedish! And I actually think that maybe potatoes and soda bread could make a perfect dinner!

  2. Love this! I hate this meal too, but I didn’t know it had roots with the Jewish immigrants. Being from a Jewish-Irish family – this is a new fun fact!

  3. I have learned so many things related to St. Patrick’s Day and Ireland from reading Slices yesterday and today. I loved that your research stemmed from the phone call with your father. Recording your reaction in italics like that captures your surprise so well. Thanks for sharing!

  4. My husband and I were just talking about this yesterday! Seriously! As well as Irish potatoes not being Irish (from South America, I think, although they WERE the tubers of the Great Famine).

  5. We Kennedy’s had a plethora of corned beef though my husband passes on the New England Boiled dinner. Excellent immigrant story I will pocket for next year’s knowledge base.

Leave a comment