Summer Time is Family Time

Summer vacation provides time to relax and regroup, time to travel, time to work on projects around the house, time to read and write, and time to try out new things.  But for me, the most important thing that summer provides is more time to spend with family.

It’s only July 23 and we’ve already had so much family time!  

Here’s a sampling:

-trips to the beach and lake and pool with our daughter and grandchildren

-family (and friends and neighbors) bar-b-ques in the back yard with badminton, bocce, and croquet

-family trip to Ireland

-visits from sisters and sisters-in-law

-boat tour of the Thimble Islands with my sister and brother-in-law

-family reunion in East Boston (35 family members from my dad’s side)

-lunch with my sister

-dinner with my stepfather

-lots and lots of time with my husband (who also has the summer off) doing lawn work, home projects, going out to lunch, making dinner, watching fireflies in the back yard, and more

-birthday lunch with my dad (who turned 88!)

-birthday weekend with my daughter (who turned 28)

 

And later this summer, we have plans to:

-visit my other sister-in-law in New York

-have my sister visit for a week

-visit our daughters in New York and Brooklyn

-have many more bar-b-ques and beach visits and parties and gatherings.
There is just something about spending time with family.  It makes me feel grounded, and it makes me feel like I’m part of something bigger and more meaningful.  It reminds me that if I have trouble, I can always come here. If I have a celebration, I can come here too.  We are here for each other, always.

 

6 thoughts on “Summer Time is Family Time”

  1. Isn’t it amazing how being this kind of busy always leaves us recharged?!? I wish I could find that elusive magic in the bustle of the school year. Such a perfect reminder of what’s really important and how our time is best spent. Thank you for sharing!

  2. This slice reminds me how lucky we are to have summers to do all that you have listed and more! It is what grounds us as teachers and reminds us that family is what matters to us and the kids we teach. Thanks for sharing!

    1. We go on the Thimble Island boat tour at least once every summer. You’ll love it! We always follow the tour with lunch at Lenny’s in Branford. You might check that out too! The outdoor seating over the marsh is pretty fun. They even have a beach area with ping pong and corn hole.

Leave a comment