My 31st Birthday

Today is my 31st birthday.  OK, I’m not 31 years old (how I wish that were so), but 31 years ago I did give birth to my first child, and so today I am celebrating. I’m celebrating my 31 year old daughter, Mackensie.

Mackensie has already lived a pretty spectacular life and grown into a pretty remarkable person.

She’s accomplished a lot in her 31 years:

-She’s overcome childhood cancer (I’m sorry to start with that, but it’s a big one.).

-She’s the best sister a sibling could ask for.

-She can sing, act, draw, play piano, cook, and sew.

-She’s a caring, kind, interesting, and fun daughter.

-She’s traveled throughout Europe, and even into Africa.

-She’s scholarly and oh, so smart.

-She’s lived a year  in France.

-She’s completed her undergraduate and graduate studies.

-She has a good job.

-She has her own company.

-She’s been financially independent for years.

-She lives her own life in New York City.

-She loves art and music and dance.

-She has incredible friends, and she is an incredible friend.

-She loves her family, and we love her.

-She loves animals and the natural world.

-She reads… a lot.

-She’s incredibly creative and talented.

I could go on …..

I am not claiming that my first born is perfect.

-She can be complicated.

-She has strong opinions (that are not always in line with my own).

-She can be cranky (especially when she’s hungry – or hangry, as she calls it).

-She can be a bit inflexible at times.

-She is sometimes tough on me (I am her mother!).

But overall….

Mackensie is brilliant, without being an intellectual snob,

She is strong, without being callous.

She is kind to others, without pandering.

She is loyal, without losing sight of herself.

She is fun, without being crazy.

She is responsible, without losing her ability to take risks.

She is tightly connected to her family and friends, without losing her independence.

I could go on…..

But for now, I’m just going to celebrate my 31st birthday and my 31 year old daughter!

 

3 thoughts on “My 31st Birthday”

  1. Love the structure you use to celebrate 31 years! You encompass who Mackensie is by listing what she has accomplished and who she is. The piece felt like I was diving down – reading the beginning, her accomplishments, I felt like I was on the surface – the more I read, the further I dove down – getting to know Mackensie more – and the ending line with the celebration – I felt like I had returned to the surface! Thanks for sharing!

    1. Your feedback is really helping me “re-see” my piece in a new way. It’s funny because in some ways I felt like the place where I talk about how she is “not so perfect” might be the place where the reader gets to know her a bit better. Thank you for your response!

Leave a comment