Because….

I’ve been thinking a lot about identity, inclusion, and social justice in my K-5 elementary school (and in our world).  I’ve read Reading Differently by Lester Laminack and Katie Kelley, and Being the Change by Sara Ahmed.  It’s made me think hard about the students in my school and my role in social justice work as a Literacy Coach. Our students (and most of our teachers) are lucky to live rather privileged lives. I want to work this year to make sure that all of our students feel included in their communities and that our students are able to see and consider and discuss multiple ways of being and multiple points of view. I want them to, through the books they hear and read, better understand themselves and others. During these first weeks of school. I’ve decided to begin this work by reading aloud and having some discussions with students about identity.

For grade 3, I chose Because written by Mo Willems and illustrated by Amber Ren. In this beautiful picture book, one event leads to another and each event significantly impacts a person’s life.  The text and drawings show readers how events (some predictable and others accidental) shape us and contribute to who we become. I’ve been reading the book aloud and then having conversations with students about the events in their lives that have helped to make them who they have become. The events that have made them unique and interesting and beautiful. I suggested to the teachers that they might want to continue this work by having children jot down these events in a notebook for possible writing ideas, or create a class chart of because statements to build community, or even have kids write their own because stories.

This work inspired me to try to write my own “Because” story:

BECAUSE

Because my dad wanted a boy, but ended up with a girl, my name is Erika.

Because I was born first, I am a big sister.

Because my parents were artists, I learned to look closely.

Because we ate dinner together every night (and weren’t permitted to answer the phone, even when we were teenagers), I learned the art of conversation (and some patience).

Because I grew up near the ocean, I feel grounded when I am on a beach or a boat.

Because my parents divorced, my mom taught my sister and me how to be a strong and indepdent women.

Because my parents remarried (new spouces), I have a huge, diverse, and fantastic family.

Because I worked in a restaurant to pay for college, I met my husband.

Because I married a slightly older fella, I immediately became a stepmom to two amazing kids!

Because we had two more children, we became a family of six!

Because we love our family, we host all of the holidays.

Because my kids taught me so much, I became a teacher.

Because I love everything having to do with words, I became a Literacy Coach.

Because I love to learn, I’m always looking to outgrow myself.

Because I love to outgrow myself, I don’t know where this story will go next.

Because I’m an optimist, I’m thinking the next steps will be good ones.

 

Here’s to a year of understanding ourselves and others and making the world a more socially just place.

12 thoughts on “Because….”

  1. Because I read your slice, I’m changing my reading lesson for today. May I share your Because poem?

    By the way, because you shared Encyc. of an Ordinary Life, I read it this summer.
    Because I loved it so much, I loaned it to my wife.
    Because she read it and loved it, she wanted to write AKR a letter.
    Because I had failed to tell her about AKR’s passing, she cried when she discovered it herself.
    Because she still had things to say, she wrote her letter anyway. and posted it on her blog
    http://ejjazzyemm.blogspot.com/2019/08/to-akr.html
    Thank you from both of us.

  2. I LOVE your poem and the connections you made. I have to admit I shared the book with our music teacher near the end of last year and when she read it to all of her classes I was disappointed I would not get to be my new class’s first reader of this book, but with your lens a reread is in order!

  3. Mmm… I love the way your thinking informs your lesson which shapes the poem which tells about your identity. I, too, am really thinking hard about identity, equity and inclusion in the classroom. I wonder if I could convince my high schoolers to read Mo Willems with me? I mean, why not?

Leave a comment