Demonstration Text #3:  Nonfiction Graphic Novel

Topic:  Ukulele

Structure: Graphic Novel

I don’t draw well.  My parents and stepmother are artists, and really talented at that.  My daughters can draw too. I just can’t (OK…I haven’t really done any practicing, but believe me, I don’t draw well.).  So when I heard that our second graders were being given the option to write a nonfiction graphic novel, I got a little nervous.  Would I be able to create a graphic novel demonstration text about the ukulele (my topic of choice for all of these demonstrations – see prior posts to see other NF structures)?  

I was nervous to try it, but I also believe in showing kids that it’s OK (essential) to be vulnerable, to take risks, not to let the fear of failure get in the way.  So, I decided to give it a go. Here’s what I’ve got so far.  

IMG_6386.jpg

This was challenging, but once I got going, it was really fun.  I can’t wait to see what the kids create.

10 thoughts on “Demonstration Text #3:  Nonfiction Graphic Novel”

  1. Gosh, this line is so important: “I was nervous to try it, but I also believe in showing kids that it’s OK (essential) to be vulnerable, to take risks, not to let the fear of failure get in the way.” This sentiment and act is such a critical part of our job as writing teachers, and I’m not sure everyone sees that. Bravo! And kudos on the ukulele book! It’s coming along great!

  2. First, I like your drawings. Second, I applaud your bravery. Third, I really like the uke diagram. And finally, I think this is the one that the kids will end up liking best. Keep going!

  3. What an awesome lesson! A couple of my teachers are doing the same for their next writing unit; we’ve just pulled all of our nonfiction graphic novels in the library for their use. I’m having fun expanding that collection each year!

Leave a comment