Really Seeing My Students

We are teaching in a pandemic.  I am teaching first graders who are learning from home. I have decided to use the SOLC as a place to reflect on this experience.  I hope this reflection will help me become a better teacher, a better learner, a better literacy coach, and a better person.  Maybe it will help others too.

31 Things I’ve Learned from Being a Remote Grade 1 Teacher

It was December.  The holidays were approaching.  We had all been through a pretty tough few months as we learned how to teach and learn and be on Zoom.  I wanted to do something special for my students and families.  Something to celebrate all that we had accomplished together.  Something to celebrate all of their hard work, persistence, bravery, and kindness.  

Possibly the strangest part of being a distance learning teacher is that you never see your children outside of that grid on the screen.  Sometimes these are the kinds of things that make me stop and think about how very strange this whole thing is. And so, I decided that I would purchase a small gift and deliver it to the children’s homes, in person.

I called my families and scheduled my visits. We were clear that we would meet outside the house with masks on, and at a distance.  We had to stay safe! The pandemic was still raging. The kids told me that they were excited (parents were too)!   I arrived at the first house.  I pulled in the driveway and parked.  As I grabbed the small bag, put on my mask, and climbed out of the car, I noticed a small pink pom pom peeking over a small gate.  Could that be Sarah (not her real name)?  She peeked out, her mom and brother just behind her. My first reaction was – She is so small!  Do people look larger on the screen?  Do I look like a giant?  “Come on,” I heard her mom whisper, “It’s her. It’s Mrs. Griffin.”  Sarah, who is a leader in our community and extremely outgoing on screen, was suddenly quiet and shy.  Eventually she and her family came out from behind the gate.  We chatted.  I gave her the small gift.  We chatted some more. It got quiet. Then Sarah’s little brother threw a snowball.  It hit me.  Mom was a bit horrified, but  we all had a good laugh. 

I went on my way, delivering the rest of the gifts, visiting each home, again surprised each time I saw my students at how very tiny they were.  

There’s nothing like seeing and talking with people in person.  It was nice.  It felt right.

8 thoughts on “Really Seeing My Students”

  1. I still think this was so kind of you and brought you closer to your class. It is crazy how different some people look in person vs Zoom but crazier now how people look to me without a mask!

  2. I’ve met a few in real life and I have to resist the urge to run to them and embrace them. This is the sweetest. I’m sure it’s a moment you’ll all always remember.

  3. Thanks for showing the contrast between “Sarah” on-screen vs. off. I get to see my (masked) students in-person, but it’s so fun to see them on Flipgrid assignments when they remove their masks. Sometimes I’m shocked by the bottom halves of their faces.

  4. I loved reading this. First, I smiled because my daughter’s name is Sarah (even though that isn’t your student’s real name) and she’s in first grade too. We are planning on sending her back to school after Spring break. And she said something similar to your slice. “I’ll get to see how tall Mrs. K is!” She was so excited. And Mrs. K is very tall! So she wants to see just HOW tall 🙂 And I never really thought about how the teachers have no idea how big the kids are. They all probably look about the same height sitting on a chair! And I was shocked to hear that my son’s teacher is 6’4″! Just such a strange reality.

    How special too that you did that for your students.

  5. Erika, thanks so much to always remembering that relationship matters more than anything in teaching. I feel like I am catching up with you by reading these posts but as a wise friend wrote, “Nothing like seeing and talking with people in person.” I wish for this for us soon!

Leave a comment