Spring

I tried to leave work on time today. The sun and warm March temperatures were calling. Come out, come out, wherever you are. I got to the car and quickly rolled down all of the windows. I want as much of this fresh air as I can get. I need this! I pulled out and started to head home. I guess everyone else was trying to get home too because I95 was packed! It’s OK, I thought. It’s not going to get dark until 7!

I pulled up the driveway. My husband and dog were sitting outside in one of the Adirondack chairs we have on the lawn. (The husband was in the chair. The dog on the ground by his feet.) They were all set to go walking. Tim had his walking shoes on, and Bailey was dressed with her harness and leash. “Let’s go,” Tim called. I ran inside, changed my shirt and shoes, and headed out the door.

We headed to the park. There were people and dogs everywhere! The energy was high. Hope was in the air. We got out of the car and started our walk around the pond. People were happy. Everyone was waving and smiling and saying hello. We stopped several times along the walk to let children pet Bailey. She loves the attention and the kids always enjoy playing with her.

What is it about good weather in spring that creates this kind of happiness; this sense of hope? I’ve had a hard week. There are sad things happening in my world. I’m worried. Today’s weather gave me hope. It made me feel grateful. I was so thankful for it.

9 thoughts on “Spring”

  1. I’m glad you headed out to enjoy the day! I actually stayed late and when I went to the car after 5:00, the playground was packed. It was really lovely!

  2. I’m sorry about the sad things in your life, but I’m glad you were feeling hopeful. I enjoyed the wondering about good weather and kindness; makes us realize how much we need light – No matter if it’s weather, kindness, community etc. You painted a nice picture with your husband and dog on and near the Adirondack chairs. I feel your pain about 95. I live in Woodbride VA but thankfully 95 isn’t on my commute for school. With hope, rg

  3. E,
    Even the birds feel the sense of hope and playfulness yesterday’s warmth brings. They woke me this morning – through the bunches of downstairs windows I left open all night to get the air in.
    Let us be lighter.
    xo

  4. Yes. We all need Spring – the world remembering her colors, the sounds of chirping birds, the smell of green, and a rebirth of wonder. Wishing you all that Spring can bring and more!

Leave a comment