The Stories in Our Hands

OK, I’ll admit it, I found today’s prompt/invitation really interesting.

The prompt: What stories do your hands tell? Trace around your hand and fill it in with memories that are connected to your hands.

I traced my hand. Then I stared at my (real) hand and tried to think of stories that involved my hands. I do know that I have my mother’s hands, so I instantly thought of her. I don’t like my thick veins, but since they remind me of my mom, who died a number of years ago, I feel grateful that I carry her with me every day. I kept the drawing on my desk for a few days and kept adding memories. I definitely think there are ideas here that I can write more about. I think this might be interesting to try with kids. Here’s what I have so far:

My hand

16 thoughts on “The Stories in Our Hands”

  1. This is actually really cool! I hear, see, a poem of all the things and people your hands have held. An ode to holding. I also think it’s cool that this prompt is in process, you have it on your desk and keep adding to it. Usually, prompts are given and completed – not typically ( at least for me) seen as a process. This could be called a process prompt.

  2. This is lovely. What a wonderful idea – to honor your hands and all of the work they have done for you over the years, and how they carry that in their appearance. Just lovely – thank you!

  3. I agree with the other comments, and I like the idea of a “process prompt” so much. I think also that a prompt like this can help find stories which is so much more than what prompts usually do. Haven’t ever thought about my thick veins in my hand as being genetic–just a sign of aging! I like your take on them better!

  4. Yes, I love hand maps! I was drawn to where you wrote “my left hand.” I have always done my left hand as well (probably because I could trace well enough to do my right! 🙂 But this has me thinking if the stories would be different on the right hand? I have a scar and a broken thumb on my right. You have me thinking here this morning!

  5. Oh, I love this soooo much! I’ll have to try it! And, yes, most definitely try it with kids! Then, please share! This can be such a reflective and creative activity you’ve hit upon! It instantly made me think of my oldest son who is an accomplished pianist (he did not go into music, however), and how he has always protected his hands. He didn’t want to work in the woodshop with my husband for fear he’d hurt his hands somehow and then couldn’t produce music. He paints now also (not my son who is the artist, either)! But, hands – so symbolic and so very important!

  6. I’ve never heard of this, but I like it. Similar to heart but I could see different ideas coming from it. Can’t wait to see a piece from it.

  7. Many thanks for helping me see beyond the Thanksgiving turkey outline to more ambitious possibilities!

Leave a comment