The Daily Crossword

For Christmas, one of my daughters gave me the NY Times Daily Crossword Puzzle – the one that comes in a cube where you complete the crossword each day, tear it off, and move on to the next puzzle.  She bought one for herself too. The first puzzle she bought us was quite challenging.  Did she really think I could complete something like this each morning?  I guess I was flattered, but also a bit stressed.  When she opened hers a few days later, she called me and said, “Ummmm….I know I bought you the NY Times Crossword Calendar, but I think I got us the wrong one.  This one looks like it would take us a week to complete, not a day!”  I was relieved. She quickly re-ordered the easier puzzle for both of us. 

Now I complete the (easier) crossword each morning before I head off to work or get going on a weekend.  It’s challenging enough to get my mind working, and achievable in the amount of time I have to work on it. Sometimes I’ll leave a few clues for later in the evening.  As I work on the puzzle each morning, I think about how cool it is that my daughter and I are completing a similar task each day.  In some way, it makes me feel like we are together for a short time each morning.  It’s like looking at the moon and realizing that the people you love, no matter where they are in the world, are looking at the very same moon.  Somehow this gives me a deep sense comfort.

6 thoughts on “The Daily Crossword”

  1. I didn’t know you both do this, and I love that. Doing more crosswords is something I would like to eventually do. Good brain workout!

Leave a comment