Awesome Thing #9/31

I’m writing about one awesome thing each day during the month of March in hopes that it will help me be more positive and less afraid of the world around me.

  1. My boss!

It was Friday afternoon.  I had been home sick with the flu for the first part of the week, and I still waxn’t 100%.  It was 2:30.  I still had a meeting and bus dismissal ahead of me. And of course the commute home. Did I mention it was Friday? I was dragging.  I do have a couch in my office, and I have been reading recently about the importance of taking power naps  (See – Educator Bandwith: How to Reclaim your Energy, Passion, and Time by Jane Kise and Ann Holm), so I was thinking maybe this was the time to try it.  

That’s when she appeared in the doorway…….

”Want anything from Starbucks?  I thought I’d run there before the meeting!” Was I so tired that I was hallucinating?  Did she say Starubucks?  The voice appeared again, “Tea?  Coffee?” This was just too good to be true!  I’d been saved!

“Yes! Please! Thank you!” I responded with all of the energy I could muster.  I’ll take a Medicine Ball! (It’s a deliciouls honey, citrus tea that I learned about just this week!) 

She went around and gathered orders, ran to Starbucks, and came back with gifts of coffee and tea for everyone who was attending the meeting.  I have one awesome boss!

Thank you.  You saved me.  That power nap will have to wait for another time!

9 thoughts on “Awesome Thing #9/31”

  1. Now THAT really is an awesome boss who realizes the power of luring her employees with caffeine when there is litterally nothing left in their cups!

  2. Is that second commenter the aforementioned boss? If so, not surprised. I wasn’t sick early in the week, but I certainly felt the Friday drag. I subbed three out of the five days…that will empty your cup, too. I’ll have to remember the Medicine Ball!

  3. That is, in fact, awesome. I would love a boss who offers to pick something up at Starbucks. And I’ve never heard of the Medicine Ball, but I’m definitely going to check it out. I hope you’re getting a little extra rest this weekend so you can shake this illness once and for all.

  4. That is an awesome thing! I am curious about this drink you ordered…I may have to try it myself.

Leave a comment