Awesome Thing #12/31

I’m writing about one awesome thing each day during the month of March in hopes that it will help me be more positive and less afraid of the world around me.

#12: Walking 44 blocks on a beautiful February day.

    I wrote about walking yesterday, so thought I’d stay on the topic.  I do love to walk.  I feel like I could walk forever and never get tired. I tested that idea a few weeks ago. We were lucky to have a vacation week in February.  On one of those days, I headed into New York City.  I planned to meet my daughters at a museum uptown.  It was a beautiful, sunny, cool February afternoon, so I decided I would walk from Grand Central to the Neue Gallerie (on 5th at 86th Street).  When I told my older daughter, she was a little shocked.  That’s 44 blocks, mom! The subway is so easy and it goes right from Grand Central to 85th Street!  OK…Maybe this walking plan is all about avoiding the subway! I am overwhelmed by the idea of taking these amazing underground trains.  I know it’s probably not all that hard, but I’m always afraid I’ll get down there and get on the wrong train or go the wrong way on the train, so I avoid it unless I’m with someone who knows what they are doing 

    So I walked.  I walked over to Fifth Ave from Grand Central and then just walked up, alongside Central Park, the whole way.  At the start, it was busy.  I think lots of people had the day off (or it’s just Midtown Manhattan on a Monday afternoon), but as the blocks increased in number and I got into the 70’s, the crowds thinned and there were just a few of us strolling along in the sunshine. I really felt like I could walk all the way back to CT if I had the time!  I arrived at the museum and had a lovely (and funny) afternoon with my girls (see earlier post).  (In case you’re wondering….I did NOT walk the 44 blocks back to Grand Central.  I took the subway (with my daughter).  It really was easy! 

    9 thoughts on “Awesome Thing #12/31”

    1. That is EXACTLY what I would do and for many of the same reasons. Whenever I’m in NYC, I walk and walk and walk– usually on the west side, though. Maybe the next time I’m in I’ll suggest that museum and check out the east side more.

    2. I love to walk too–and feel like I would end up doing the exact same thing. I’d be a little unsure of being in the right place and doing the right thing on the subway, but I’d be very confident navigating by walking!

    3. You need to start doing hikes, that are mostly walking. In addition, you need to make me walk Miles with you!

    4. I love to walk as well, but I have braved the underground maze of the subways out of necessity. I do not know al the lines, just a few! Even so, I usually get off too early or find I am on an express train that stops too late causing me to still walk!

    5. I just did a similar type walk about a week ago when I went to drop my cat off at my daughter’s apartment on the east side. I dropped Mister off after taking an Uber in, and then walked and walked – from 95th and 3rd all the way to Grand Central. I love walking in the city and walking in general. I also, like you, prefer to avoid the subways. Why go underground when you can just walk these city streets. Sounds like you had a fun day with your daughters.

    Leave a comment