Killing Me Softly

As I pulled out of the driveway, the old Roberta Flack song, Killing Me Softly with His Song, came on the radio.  Roberta Flack? On Webe 108? In 2019? What?  

I turned it up. Loud.  This song quickly pulled on memories from when I was a teenager, living with my mother and stepfather.

I felt the tears pull to the surface quickly.  

I pictured him.  Sitting at the piano, a Scotch and water on the left hand side with a coaster carefully placed under the glass so as not to leave a ring on the beautiful wood of the piano. He would play a few bars.  Stop. Take a slow sip of his drink. Play a few more. Sip. Then he’d put a few lines together and sing along, quietly, but beautifully. Killing me softly with his song.  Killing me softly….with his song. Telling my whole life with his words….Pause.  Sip.  

The tears started to flow…and fast.  I pulled over and turned down the volume.  

My stepfather died in December.  It all happened so fast. This memory reminded me of his patience, his love of music (and a good Scotch), and his calm way in the world.

I miss him.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Killing Me Softly”

  1. What a beautiful memory you shared. I am always amazed by the power of music. I hope your day continues to bring you the joy of that memory.

  2. This post reminded me of an experience I had while driving. I was listening to NPR, a story about Woody Guthrie, and they played “This Land is Your Land.” I had to pull over because I started sobbing, remembering the evenings we’d sing around the living room pot-bellied stove. Thank you for sharing this. Music does evoke memories and feelings.

  3. This is a lovely post. There is so much honesty and truth in your writing. Yes, music is a strong force that can immediately connect us to a time and place. Thanks for sharing your writing.

  4. I love the moment in time you captured – current and from the past! Your voice and love comes through loud and clear – or should I say softly. Beautifully written tribute to your stepfather and his influence on you! Hugs and thanks for sharing!

  5. You told this memory slowly, which brought out the emotion. I remember when I learned to play this song on the piano. My dad was so excited. Thanks had never heard of it. It will always make me think of my dad.

Leave a comment