Prompt #2: Favorite Pet Memory

Prompt #2:  Choose a scene featuring you and your favorite pet. One time I was with my dog (my cat, my horse) and……

Hmmm….This is a hard one…So many pets, so many memories. I’ll stay with my first pet, my dearest dog, Pogo.

My parents adopted Pogo, a basset hound, when I was just a baby. We spent our formative years side by side, girl and dog.  He was a big dog, but a dog with almost no energy.  He lumbered around the house during the day moving from one napping spot to another, often hoisting his body (his legs were very short, so the hoist wasn’t all that hard) to follow the spots of sun on the floor as they moved throughout the day. When he was outside, it was the same routine; head out, do what he had to do, and find a place to sleep in the sun (Sometimes that spot was in the middle of the road!). At night Pogo again found a place to rest.  Sometimes my sister and I joined in this sleepy experience.

I remember winter nights when our family would gather in front of the fire after dinner.  Pogo would stretch his long body horizontally in front of the fireplace and sleep there for the entire evening.  My sister and I would lay our heads on his long, warm belly and stretch our bodies out vertically, the tops of our heads facing the fireplace and our feet facing the couch. 

Christina and I would rest there while my parents sat on the couch, sipping their after dinner coffee, and talking about work or politics or books or family or plans.  It felt peaceful, safe, warm. 

7 thoughts on “Prompt #2: Favorite Pet Memory”

  1. Okay- another great piece from an “invitation.” Your words create sweet images. Did you know I’ve always wanted a Bassett Hound?

  2. This is great. Did you live on Dogwood Lane in Kensington, Maryland, because one of my memories of living on the next street was that there was a very lazy basset hound who loved to sleep in the middle of the road. Everyone in the neighborhood knew to slow down, give a gentle beep and wait for him to lumber to the sidewalk. I love the image of you and your sister resting your heads on Pogo’s belly by the fireplace. Everyone should have a moment like that. I may be trying this prompt, though I never had a pet until I got married (that sounded wrong…my wife loves dogs and all other animals).

  3. Your description of your dog fits with the image I have in my mind about basset hounds. This is the second piece you’ve shared that mentioned Pogo. Where did his name come from?

Leave a comment