My New Routine

OK, I’ll admit it. I’m tired of slicing. Yesterday and today I really struggled to find a topic. I looked through the prompts and nothing really sounded good. My last few posts haven’t been that great either. Maybe it’s just the Monday Blues thing, but 28 days of writing is a lot.

On a more positive note, I think I’ve developed a nice routine for writing. I’m hoping it will be a routine that has some lasting power. I’ve decided that early evening is the best writing time for me. I’m really a morning person, so this has kind of surprised me. I’ve found that between five and six pm I can carve out some quiet time. The bulk of the day is behind me, and it’s not time to get ready for dinner quite yet. I’ve had time to get home from work, walk the dog (now that the days are longer), change into my comfortable clothes, read the mail, and take care of anything that needs immediate attention. It’s my husband’s time to watch the news and the dog is settled.

I make myself a hot tea or pour a nice cold class of juice or water with lemon, get some chips or cheese and crackers, and sit down at my writing desk. I take some time to reflect on the day, mark my gratitudes, and sort through possible writing topics or prompts/invitations. I can try something out, reread, revise, and rethink without the pressure of having to publish right away. I can even walk away for awhile, do a load of laundry or look through some of my home emails, and then come back to my writing with new energy. By the time I need to turn my attention to watching Jeopardy and eating dinner, I’ve usually got some writing that I can send out into the world.

So although I’m tired and losing some steam at the day 29 mark, I’ve really developed a writing habit. This was definitely one of my goals for the challenge, so that makes me happy.

10 thoughts on “My New Routine”

  1. I think the routine is important. I head off to my blue chair. Last night I heard Maura tell Al- she’s in her blue chair probably writing. Here’s to keeping the routine going!

  2. I like that you have given a nod today to the importance of routine. That and an audience with feedback makes a huge difference in our writing lives. I’ve also been looking for a writing desk – – I have several places that function as such, but I want a “sure enough” writing desk (southern for the bonafideness of a thing). I like the quote about a place of writing by Stephen King in his book On Writing…..he says to turn the desk away from everything in a corner of the room. Sometimes I need that. Most times, I’m sitting here in my comfy chair with my lap desk and computer….oh, for a sure enough writing desk!

  3. I cheer to you for establishing such a lovely writing routine, with something to drink and a little snack. When I write at home I too have a tea cup next to me.

Leave a comment